New Edition – Best Show of 2012

Date: June 23, 2012
City: Oakland, CA
Venue: Oracle Arena
Artist: New Edition
Opening Act(s): Tony! Toni! Toné!

New Edition

The first New Edition song I can remember is “Candy Girl”. I can recall the video for “Cool It Now” like MTV still had it on heavy rotation. I remember when Bobby Brown left and Johnny Gill came on board, and Bobby Brown, Ralph Tresvant and BBD releasing albums. This was the late 80s/early 90s and I was a fan of all of them. When I saw they were touring I knew I HAD to be there. I was lucky enough to score tickets that were so close I could make eye contact.

Could they live up to my expectations?

There are five mics on stage as the crowd waits for their entrance. Five mics. But both Bobby Brown and Johnny Gill are on the tour. Why are there only five? When I purchased the tickets it did say that they would not refund money if the line up changed. Did Bobby not show up?

Everyone but Bobby Brown comes out on stage. They start with “Can You Stand the Rain?” – one of the big hits with Johnny Gill. They sound amazing! They go into other songs and do the dance moves I remember from videos. I’m eating it all up.

Then they introduce Bobby Brown. He did show up! He was obviously intoxicated and didn’t keep off any of the weight he had lost on “Celebrity Fit Club”. He stumbled through the dance moves, but at times appeared to really try. The other guys seemed a bit annoyed, but you could tell they were thinking “That’s Bobby Brown for you.” One guy said something like “I bet you didn’t think Bobby was going to show up.” Well, if the ticket says no refunds for lineup changes, and given his history what are you suppose to think?

Everyone did one or two of their solo hits. Ralph did “Sensitivity”, Johnny did “My, My, My”, and Bobby did “Roni”. That was the only song I wanted Bobby Brown to show up to sing. Despite his intoxication, he did not disappoint, but I suppose as long as he didn’t completely mess it up I would have been happy. That is my all-time favorite Bobby Brown song.

After more hits, the guys go off stage to prepare for their encore. They change from their business suits to white tracksuits and come out with “My Prerogative”. I had only hoped for one Bobby Brown song and I got two. But what about BBD? They closed out the show with “Do Me!” and “Poison”. My night was complete!

New Edition (2)

Tony! Toni! Toné! was the opening act. I was so excited to shake my booty to “Feels Good”. Unfortunately there were sound issues and only time for one song to be sung. This was “Anniversary” – a good song, but not the hit that I was hoping for. Shame there were issues especially since they were playing in their hometown.

Maybe it’s nostalgia, but this was my best show of 2012.

This entry was posted in Concert Reviews and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

