He Writes the Songs

Date: December 6, 2012
City: San Jose, CA
Venue: HP Pavilion
Artist: Barry Manilow
Opening Act(s): n/a

Barry Manilow

I’ve been making it a point to see the legends before they die. I believe Barry Manilow is a legend. He’s had a residency in Vegas for quite a few years. The one at Paris ended in December 2012. I was excited to see that he was touring since I never made it to Vegas to see him (or Bette Midler).

The audience was mostly grandparents with a few younger people sprinkled in. It’s fun to see how older people react at these performances. It makes me wonder what I’m going to look like when I’m at a Linkin Park 20 years from now. I doubt the younger people in the crowd are going to think it’s as sweet as I think people at Barry Manilow or Neil Diamond look. Barry Manilow is more about swaying to the music instead of banging your head.

There was no opener. He came out and did his show without an encore. It was like going to see a theatre show or lounge act instead of a concert. He would talk about the history behind a song or album while the album covers were projected behind him. A smaller venue would have been a better option for this style of show.

He did a few Christmas songs and classics like “Mandy”, “Can’t Smile Without You”, “Looks Like We Made It”, “Copacabana (at The Copa)” and others. Overall I enjoyed the show. It was just the right amount of cheese and nostalgia.

This entry was posted in Concert Reviews and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

