Yes at The Warfield

Date: March 5, 2013
City: San Francisco, CA
Venue: The Warfield
Artist: Yes
Opening Act(s): n/a

Yes

One of the many upcoming concerts emails I receive showed that Yes was playing at The Warfield. The band name sounded familiar, but I couldn’t remember why. After a Google search I saw that they had recorded “Owner of a Lonely Heart”. I knew and liked that song so I bought a ticket. Since I really only knew the one song I decided to get a seat in the loge section. I figured this would allow me to be more of an observer.

I had no idea what I was getting myself into. After asking the person sitting next to me, John, if he knew if the show had sold out, I soon found out that he was a pretty big fan and has seen Yes perform several times over the years making it a point to see them every time they come to the Bay Area. I mentioned that the only song that I knew was “Owner of a Lonely Heart”. He said, “I hope that’s not the only reason you came to this show because they won’t be playing that song.”

John was an encyclopedia of information on Yes. He informed me that “Owner of a Lonely Heart” was done with a different guitarist, Trevor Rabin and that their sound changed in the 80s because of this. I’m very glad John filled me in. Had he not I would have been disappointed. Knowing not to expect the one song I knew, I just sat back and enjoyed the show.

Yes’ sound is not my style. There songs did seem to go on for too long and I got tired of the lead singer’s voice after awhile. The guitar player was extremely talented. There were a few people in the front rows that were really into it. I love to see fans singing along and really getting into it without caring what anyone around them is thinking.

If you’re a fan, you would probably love the show. If you have no idea what you are getting into and are open minded, you should be able to appreciate that these guys have been around forever and have been touring only 5 years less than The Rolling Stones.

This entry was posted in Concert Reviews and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

