Midi Matilda at Rickshaw Stop

Date: May 17, 2013
City: San Francisco, CA
Venue: Rickshaw Stop
Artist: Midi Matilda
Opening Act(s): Oona, Holy Child

Midi Matilda

Midi Matilda is a local San Francisco band that consists of Skyler Kilborn and Logan Grimé. The first time I saw them was on the Local Band Stage at Live 105’s 2012 BFD. My friend had seen them open up for Oh Land earlier in the year and suggested I check them out at BFD. I thought they were pretty good.

They use electronics to help fill in parts of the music as there are only two of them. The use of backtracks allows them to do a few dance breaks. The first dance break reminded me of the “Carlton Dance”. The other felt a bit more choreographed and really got the sold out crowd going. I think it’s cool that Logan comes out from behind the drum kit for the occasional dance break. Logan even went into the crowd for a bit.

I will admit that I don’t own any of Midi Matilda’s music so I didn’t recognize a single song during their set. However I did enjoy the show and look forward to seeing them grow into bigger venues.

I missed the first opening band, Holy Child, but did get to see Oona. She was pretty good – interactive with the crowd and pulled a few girls up on stage for her last song to dance. Her stuff was pretty catchy.

This entry was posted in Concert Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

