Converse #RepresentSF Brings Suicidal Tendencies to Slim’s

Date: June 27, 2013
City: San Francisco, CA
Venue: Slim’s
Artist: Suicidal Tendencies
Opening Act(s): Rocket from the Cyrpt, The Bronx, Ceremony, and The Shrine

To kick of the opening of their San Francisco Mid-Market store, Converse bought out Slim’s for five days and hosted five nights of free shows. You had to enter to win tickets by selecting your top two shows and hope for the best. I remember Suicidal Tendencies being popular when I was in high school. A lot of the guys had a patch either sewn or pinned to their denim jackets. I had wanted to see Suicidal Tendencies when they played at The Regency Ballroom in April, but couldn’t make the show. Luckily I won tickets to see them at Slim’s thanks to Converse.

This was a true punk show. The Shrine was already on stage when I arrived. The venue was packed and there was a mosh pit at the stage. I’ve never been a mosh pit girl so I made my way to the back of the venue by the bar. Ceremony followed and kept the punk vibe going.

The Bronx were up next. Their lead singer, Matt Caughthran, jumped into the crowd and crowd surfed during their set. I haven’t seen that in quite awhile. I’ve seen bands walk into the crowd and stand on the railing that separates security and photographers from the audience, but I can’t remember the last time I saw a band member crowd surfing.

The band just before the headliner was Rocket from the Crypt. I thought they were a bit more ska than punk, but I really enjoyed their set. They had matching outfits, a horn section and were very interactive with the crowd.

Lead singer Mike Muir is the only original member still in Suicidal Tendencies. He worked that tiny stage like he was in an arena. He ran back and forth across it and did some old school thrasher punk moves. They performed “Institutionalized” which is the song that is the most memorable to me. Mike talked a bit too much for my taste, but I have to say it was refreshing to hear positivity in his words. They ended the show by getting everyone up on stage to thrash around with the band and shout “ST” during “Pledge Your Allegiance”.

Suicidal Tendencies

This show was a lot of fun. Each band made you want to jump around and scream along.

This entry was posted in Concert Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

