Jason Mraz Leaves the Crowd Breathless

Date: September 1, 2013
City: San Francisco, CA
Venue: America’s Cup Pavilion
Artist: Jason Mraz
Opening Act(s): Walk off the Earth

Jason Mraz

I was obsessed with Jason Mraz when his debut album “Waiting for My Rocket to Come” was released. The lead single off the album, “The Remedy (I Won’t Worry)” was fun and catchy. I had the album on repeat for at least a year. When “Word Play” was released I immediately went out and bought the “Mr. A-Z” album as soon as it was available. I traveled to Las Vegas with three of my friends to see Jason perform at The Joint in the Hard Rock Hotel in 2005. I could have done with his opener, James Blunt, but Jason’s performance was stellar. I had no idea the reach of his talent until I saw him live.

The next two albums “We Sing. We Dance. We Steal Things.” and “Love Is A Four Letter Word” were a bit more on the mellow side but still kept the witty word play that Jason Mraz is famous for. With four albums under his belt it must be difficult for Jason to put together a playlist for his shows. While I would have loved to have heard “Curbside Prophet”, “Life is Wonderful” and “Geek In The Pink” I was happy that he performed “The Remedy (I Won’t Worry)” and “Tonight, Not Again” from his first album. He performed other favorites including “Love for a Child”, “I’m Yours” which he led into from “Signed Sealed Delivered I’m Yours”, “93 Million Miles”, “I Won’t Give Up” and closed the show with “Song for a Friend”.

Toca Rivera did not perform with Jason Mraz on this stop of the tour. Toca and Jason have such a great chemistry on stage together, but the Mona Tavakoli was a wonder substitute. She and Jason performed “You Fckn Did It” with such high energy as she played the box she was sitting on as well as on Jason’s guitar as he was strumming. They also jumped up in down in unison as he played his guitar and she played the cowbell. The performance of this one song was a definitely highlight.

“Lucky” is a song that Jason recorded with Colbie Caillat. When he started talking about a girl that he had met that wanted to sing with him I thought he was going to bring out Colbie Caillat to sing with him. Unfortunately she was not backstage, but Alexa Jarred, a friend of a friend came out to perform the song with him. He said that it was not planned and judging the shock and embarrassment on her face I believe that she was not aware that he was going to call her out. She did a pretty good job. You can see the performance here. After doing a little research it appears that Jason chooses a woman to sing the song with him at most if not all of his shows.

During the show Jason had everyone breathe in deeply and release all the negative energy. We did this several times. The last time he said something to effect of “Let’s do it one last time because if nothing else you’ll be able to tell your friends that the show left you breathless.” I was definitely left breathless by his talent. Jason Mraz is a must see live artist. Unless you absolutely cannot stand his music you will not be disappointed.

Walk Off The Earth

Walk Off The Earth opened the show. Their song “Red Hands” has gotten a lot of radio play and their video has been in the “VH1 Top 20 Countdown” too. They came into the front row of the audience to take a ‘family portrait’. You can view all of their family portraits in their “Our amazing Fans!” photo album on Facebook. As of my publishing this blog this show has not been added.

They performed a mixture of their own songs and covers. I thought the cover of Gotye’s “Somebody That I Used To Know” was very cool even though I can’t stand the song. The group huddled together to play a single guitar while singing the song. During the last song of their set they held up cue cards to get the crowd to sing the chorus of their song “Summer Vibe”. Walk Off The Earth’s portion of the show was high energy and a lot of fun. An excellent fit to open for Jason Mraz.

This entry was posted in Concert Reviews and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

