Kelly Clarkson Knows It All

Date: March 27, 2012
City: San Jose, CA
Venue: San Jose State Event Center
Artist: Kelly Clarkson
Opening Act(s): Carolina Liar

Kelly Clarkson

A friend got me to start watching “American Idol” late in the first season. I think I came in when there were about five or six contestants left. I witnessed Kelly Clarkson becoming the first American Idol. I felt like she was ‘real’ on that show, showing her down to earth personality with her “cool beans”.

“Miss Independent” off of her first album “Thankful” is what really sold me on Kelly Clarkson. I loved the song upon seeing it on “TRL”. Then I found out that is was co-written by Christina Aguilera while she was writing for her “Stripped” album. I love Xtina! It definitely sounded like a song Christina would sing. I bought Kelly’s album based on that one song. For the most part I liked what I heard. I had figured it would be a bit saccharin, but I liked Kelly’s voice and was looking forward to hearing more.

She had several hits after her “Thankful” album. I enjoyed hearing her songs on the radio but did not buy another album. I’d heard great things about her performances so when the opportunity to see her came up I knew I had to buy a ticket. It was a bonus that she was doing a tour at smaller venues. I was able to get a great seat on the floor of the San Jose State Event Center.

I sat next to two women that struck up a conversation with me. I found out that they were friends that live in the Almaden area of San Jose with grown children in their early 20s. These women were already a bit tipsy when I arrived, which was before the opening act. One had seen Kelly Clarkson a few times and was really excited to see her again. The other had never seen Kelly before.

The women I was sitting next too got a few more drinks before Kelly Clarkson came on. After about three songs the woman who had seen Kelly before was leaning over with her head between her legs. Her friend left to get some water and proceeded to spend most of the show trying to take care of her friend before guiding her to either the restroom or to the car. They never came back. It’s a shame because it really was a good show.

Kelly Clarkson’s voice was strong; she worked the stage and was very interactive with the crowd. She sang her new songs but sprinkled in some fan favorites based on requests made through Twitter. Apparently she does this a lot because she said she was going to be back in the Bay Area on the second leg of her tour and that she would do different songs. I was excited that “Miss Independent” had made the set list.

She did a country ‘duet’ with Jason Aldean via a video projected on the white sheets of fabric used as a backdrop. She came out into the crowd and covered Florence and the Machine’s “Heavy In Your Arms”. She also covered “It Will Rain” by Bruno Mars and Carrie Underwood’s “I Know You Won’t”. Other favorites of mine that she performed were “Because of You”, “Stronger”, “My Life Would Suck Without You”, “Breakaway”, “Mr. Know It All”, and “Since U Been Gone”.

Many people had signs that Kelly read. I love when artists do this. It shows such appreciation for the fans. One said something about how everything is bigger in Texas. She said something about her butt being bigger. I don’t remember exactly what she said but I found it adorable that she could take a few jabs at herself.

I liked her show so much that I am going to see her again when she comes back to the Bay Area for the Honda Civic Tour with Maroon 5.

Carolina Liar opened up. They were good, but Matt Nathanson was originally on the ticket and I was really looking forward to seeing him. He ended up not being on the bill because the night of my show he was performing on “Dancing with the Stars”.

This entry was posted in Concert Reviews and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

