Maroon 5 Headline Honda Civic Tour

Date: October 2, 2013
City: Mountain View, CA
Venue: Shoreline Amphitheater
Artist: Maroon 5
Opening Act(s): Kelly Clarkson, Rozzi Crane

Maroon 5

Maroon 5

I saw Maroon 5 earlier this year during their arena tour. As soon as I found out they were headlining the Honda Civic Tour with Kelly Clarkson I knew I had to see them both again. They didn’t have the big arena stage set up because an amphitheater doesn’t lend itself to it. That didn’t prevent Adam Levine from working every inch of the stage. I’m glad he did because there was one tall guy directly in front of my view of Adam when he was center stage.

Maroon 5 performed a good mix of songs from their current album, “Overexposed”, and their previous albums. They also covered Prince’s “I Wanna Be Your Lover” and Daft Punk’s “Get Lucky”. There were times Adam looked a bit annoyed that the audience wasn’t loud enough. Admittedly it wasn’t as loud as their SAP Center show, but the sound at an amphitheater is much different then an arena because there is no roof to keep the audience screams inside.

Adam had the audience sing along to “She Will Be Loved” as he had at the arena tour. One side of the audience sang “I don’t mind spending every day” and the other half sang “Out on your corner in the pouring rain.” It’s always cool to hear the audience sing along at shows. Maroon 5 ended the show with “Daylight”.

Kelly Clarkson

Kelly Clarkson

I missed most of Kelly Clarkson’s set due to traffic, but was able to catch the last five songs. Thankfully they included some of my favorites, “Mr. Know It All”, “Miss Independent” and “Since U Been Gone”. What little I saw of Kelly’s set was very enjoyable. She was dressed much fancier than when I had seen her last year at San Jose State Event Center. I got to see one costume change from an elegant black dress to a glow in black light outfit for “People Like Us”. I was bummed to miss most of her set, but I still think Kelly can SING and would definitely see her again.

The show itself made me forget the horrific traffic I experienced getting there. Three hours from San Francisco is unheard of. I’ve never experienced that and I’ve been to plenty of weeknight sold out shows at Shoreline Amphitheater. I missed Rozzi Crane’s set completely.

This entry was posted in Concert Reviews and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

