Book of Love Brings the 80s to DNA Lounge

Date: October 9, 2013
City: San Francisco, CA
Venue: DNA Lounge
Artist: Book of Love
Opening Act(s): n/a

Book of Love

As I perused the list of shows available to win on Tixie, I came across Book of Love performing at DNA Lounge. Their name sounded very familiar so I looked them up on YouTube. As soon as I heard “I Touch Roses” I knew exactly who this band was and decided to start making bids to win, which I did.

When I arrived to the venue the DJ was playing some great classic 80s and there were several people dressed in 80s attire. All signs that this was going to be a great show. With no opening act, the night was all about Book of Love. Three of the original band members, Susan Ottaviano, Ted Ottaviano and Lauren Johnson, performed for an enthusiastic crowd.

Susan’s voice took a bit to warm up but by the end of the night she was sounding pretty close to their albums. Lauren Johnson’s voice was not great at all. She struggled to hit several notes. Thankfully there was only one song that she sang more than just back up on. Ted took the lead on “With a Little Love” and afterwards Susan commented that they hadn’t performed that song in a really long time. Then realizing that they only recently got back together said they hadn’t performed any songs in a really long time.

Other familiar hits performed were “Alice Everyday”, “Happy Day”, “I Touch Roses”, “Boy”, “Book of Love” and a cover of ABBA’s “S.O.S.”. This show was a lot of fun. I loved the humor of the band and that they looked like they were having a good time being back together onstage. I’m looking forward to hearing their new music.

This entry was posted in Concert Reviews and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

