My Return to Chicago Day 2

Date: August 7, 2010
City: Chicago, IL
Venue: Grant Park

Lollapalooza 2010

After making the mistake of trying to get into the park from the side entrance on day 1, I decided to walk further down Michigan Avenue to the main entrance. Not only did I find it quicker to get into the festival I was also greeted by the above. It was another great day of music and fun in the sun.

REBELUTION – Reggae band from Santa Barbara. I had heard their name from friends that went to UCSB, but had not seen them before. Their set was fun and a great way to start the day.

Rebelution

HARLEM – Garage rock band originally from Tucson, AZ

Harlem

BLUES TRAVELER – I was really excited to get to see Blues Traveler for the first time. They did not disappoint. John Popper can still play the hell out of a harmonica.

Blues Traveler

AGAINST ME! – Punk rock band from Gainesville, FL

Against Me!

DAWES – Folk rock band from Los Angeles. They are more on the mellow side, but I enjoyed their set.

Dawes

PHOENIX – Night 2 headliner

I decided to see Phoenix instead of Green Day because I had never seen them before and had seen Green Day at least three times. I only knew two of their songs, “1901” and “Lisztomania”, prior to seeing them. They were good, but too mellow for the setting. I think I would have enjoyed their set more if I could actually see them perform. I was so far back I couldn’t even get a photo.

This entry was posted in Concert Reviews, Lollapalooza, Music Festivals and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

