My Return to Chicago Day 3

Date: August 8, 2010
City: Chicago, IL
Venue: Grant Park

The last day of my return to Lollapalooza came too soon. It was another great weekend of music and food. I found my favorite spots at each stage and discovered the cooling stations. This was the year I vowed that I would make the trip to Chicago every year for this event. So far I have been fortunate enough to be able to.

SWITCHFOOT – Rock band from San Diego with hits “Meant to Live” and “I Dare You to Move”.

Switchfoot

THE CRIBS – Three-piece indie rock band from England. I remember really liking this band and their music.

The Cribs

X JAPAN – I saw a portion of this Japanese heavy metal band from one of the screens in the shaded picnic area. They looked like a lot of fun and the crowd was loving them.

ERYKAH BADU – This woman has an amazing voice and presence

Erykah Badu

WOLFMOTHER – This Australian band can rock! They sounded great and the crowd was fantastic. There were a couple of guys rocking an air guitar and air drums during Wolfmother’s set. The best part was watching all the people taking pictures and video of them.

Wolfmother

Lollapalooza 2010

CYPRESS HILL – They still had the blow up Buddha from Lollapalooza 1995.

SOUNDGARDEN – Final night headliner

Soundgarden

This was one of the early performances of the reunited Soundgarden and my first time seeing them. I had been a fan in the 90s along with pretty much everyone else in my college. I had a great spot stage right to be close enough to see without being crowded by people. Chris Cornell and the entire band sounded amazing. The sign language interpreters did a great job of conveying the high energy of the band too. A great way to end the festival.

This entry was posted in Concert Reviews, Lollapalooza, Music Festivals and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

