Lollapalooza Officially Becomes A Tradition – Day 3 2011

Date: August 7, 2011
City: Chicago, IL
Venue: Grant Park

Day three included the following:

FENCES – Indie rock band from Seattle

Fences

RIVAL SCHOOLS – Post hardcore band from New York

Rival Schools

THE CARS – This was my first time seeing The Cars. Their set included “Good Times Roll”, “My Best Friend’s Girl”, “You Might Think”, “Just What I Needed” and “Magic”. They might be getting older, but they still sound great.

The Cars

In the middle of the day, a storm started brewing and headed towards Grant Park.

Storm

The storm clouds approach

Storm

The sky gets darker

Storm

Sunshine is on its way

Storm

With the storm passing, a rainbow appears

Storm

ARCTIC MONKEYS – Due to the storm; the Artic Monkeys’ set was delayed and shortened. What little they were allowed to play sounded good.

Arctic Monkeys

COLD WAR KIDS

I had seen Cold War Kids in 2006 when I was living in Los Angeles. I hadn’t heard of them but they were the opening act for Editors at Avalon Hollywood. I enjoyed their set but felt the way they had ended each song was a bit weird. I was never quite sure if a song was over or if they were pausing for dramatic effect to then end the song with grandeur. “Hang Me Up To Dry” was definitely a stand out from their set. I soon started to hear that song on the radio.

Since I had already seen Foo Fighters a few times and I have no interest in seeing DJs perform, I decided to see Cold War Kids close out the weekend on one of the smaller stages. I was also curious to see if they had made some adjustments to their performance since 2006. They had a good size crowd and put on a good show. I had a better idea of when songs were over, but there were still a few songs that I felt ended oddly.

The 20th anniversary of Lollapalooza had come to an end. Despite being drenched by the storm and not having enough sun to dry off before nightfall, it was another great year.

This entry was posted in Concert Reviews, Lollapalooza, Music Festivals and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

