Voodoo Experience 2011 Day 1

Date: October 28, 2011
City: New Orleans, LA
Venue: City Park

VooDoo Experience 2011

After Lollapalooza in August I decided that although I will return to Chicago each year I also wanted to experience other music festivals. I can’t recall how, but I heard about Voodoo Experience in New Orleans. Since I was somewhat familiar with New Orleans, having been there a few times in the mid-nineties, I decided my second music festival of 2011 would be Voodoo Experience.

I purchased my passes before the lineup was announced. While the lineup ended up including several acts that I had seen before, I looked at it as an opportunity to spend more time discovering new bands.

THE STATIC JACKS – Rock band from New Jersey

The Static Jacks

CIVIL TWILIGHT – South African rock band

Civil Twilight

FLEUR DEBRIS – A New Orleans all-star band with a lineup that varies depending on musicians’ availability

Fleur Debris

THE WOMBATS – Indie rock band from England

The Wombats

MATES OF STATE – Husband and wife due from Kansas

Mates of State

FITZ AND THE TANTRUMS – Neo soul/indie pop band from Los Angeles

Fitz and the Tantrums

I had seen a portion of Fitz and the Tantrums’ set at Lollapalooza and loved it. I was excited to have the opportunity to see their full performance at Voodoo. They were fantastic. Fitz and Noelle are constantly in motion and their songs are fun and catchy. I had the opportunity to meet them and get their autographs at one of the tents after their set. It was great to see that they are really nice people too.

THE VETTES – New Orleans band consisting of four siblings and one that was ‘adopted’ shortly after joining the band

The Vettes

I skipped Soundgarden’s headlining set since I had just seen them at Lollapalooza. Plus it meant the bus back to the hotel would be less crowded because I was leaving before the show was over.

This entry was posted in Concert Reviews, Music Festivals, Voodoo Music & Arts Experience and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

