Icona Pop – I Loved It

Date: December 18, 2013
City: San Francisco, CA
Venue: The Fillmore
Artist: Icona Pop
Opening Act(s): K-Flay, Sirah

Icona Pop

Icona Pop is a duo from Sweden. I first learn of them when they performed “I Love It” on “Dancing With the Stars”. They were on the schedule at Lollapalooza this year. Since I had tickets to see them at The Fillmore later in the month I decided to hold off on seeing them. I heard great things about their performance and was disappointed when their show was postponed due to illness. I’m glad they were able to reschedule because the show was amazing and so much fun.

Caroline Hjelt and Aino Jawo were extremely high energy and looked like they were having a great time performing together. They are obviously best of friends. I don’t have their album so the only songs I was aware of prior to the show were “All Night” and “I Love It”. I loved all of the songs that I was hearing for the first time.

Caroline talked about how they reached out to Tupac Shakur’s mom to get permission to use the hook from “Me And My Girlfriend” for their song “Girlfriend”. She said that Tupac’s mom liked what they were doing and gave permission for them to use it.

The audience around me knew every word to each song. They were going crazy the entire show, but especially when “We Got the World”, “In the Stars”, “Then We Kiss”, “Light Me Up”, “On a Roll”, “All Night” and “I Love It” were performed. “All Night” was the pre-encore song and “I Love It” was the final song of the night. It was a great show and I highly recommend going to see them even if you only know the two songs that have been given radio play.

K-Flay and Sirah opened up the show. I wasn’t aware of either of them prior to the show. Sirah is a rapper/singer. The bass during her set was too loud and you couldn’t really hear her voice. K-Flay is also a rapper. She was better than Sirah, but she often seemed out of breath during or after a song.

This entry was posted in Concert Reviews and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

