Inaugural Year of Life is Beautiful – Day 1

Date: October 26, 2013
City: Las Vegas, NV
Venue: Downtown Las Vegas

Life is Beautiful Festival

2013 was the inaugural year of the Life is Beautiful Festival. I was very curious to see how it would be laid out since was being held in downtown Las Vegas. The music festivals I have been to thus far have either been in a city park or a parking lot. The parking lot experience was miserable so I was a bit concerned about this festival being held in an area that did not have a lot if any green space.

Like most people, if I go to Vegas I spend my time on The Strip. I haven’t spent a lot of time in downtown before, but decided to stay downtown so that I could easily walk to and from the festival. Downtown has definitely changed. There are quite a few nice restaurants and bars plus a new hotel that was scheduled to open not long after the festival ended. I would assume that the organizers and chamber of commerce put this festival together to showcase the changes that have been made in downtown. I was definitely impressed.

ZZ WARD – She sounded great and got the crowd going by encouraging us to clap and sing along.

ZZ Ward

BEAU HODGES BAND – I had never heard of this local Vegas band prior to this festival. They a mix of blues, country and rock.

ALABAMA SHAKES – This is a band I have been wanting to see for a while. Brittany Howard’s voice is so powerful and soulful. They sound just like they do on the radio.

Alabama Shakes

DAWES – I saw Dawes in 2010 and 2012 at Lollapalooza. I was excited to see that they were playing a small intimate set in the Toyota Tent. Unfortunately the tent was too close to the Downtown Stage and they were only able to perform two songs before they were drowned out by Imagine Dragons.

Dawes

KINGS OF LEON – This was one of the first shows Kings of Leon has done in about two years. I was very excited to finally get a chance to see them. Their stage production looked pretty cool, but I was too far back to see everything. They sounded great and I would definitely want to see them again.

Kings of Leon

I think it was a good first day for Life is Beautiful.

This entry was posted in Concert Reviews, Life is Beautiful Festival, Music Festivals and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

