Lollapalooza 2013 Day 1

Date: August 2, 2013
City: Chicago, IL
Venue: Grant Park

Lollapalooza

THE DROWNERS – I saw a very small portion of this English band’s set on The Grove Stage, but had a second opportunity to see them in the Toyota tent.

The Drowners

AMERICAN AUTHORS – Brooklyn indie rock band. Enjoyed the portion of their set that I was able to see. There was a large crowd at the BMI Stage to see them.

American Authors

SAN CISCO – Loved this Australian band’s set on The Grove Stage that I had to see them again when they played the Toyota Tent. “Awkward” is such a catchy song.

San Cisco

San Cisco

DEAP VALLY – These two LA women know how to rock!

Deap Vally

GHOST BC – Swedish heavy metal band. Sounded great, but damn they look scary.

Ghost BC

BRICK+MORTAR – Indie rock duo from New Jersey

Brick + Mortar

SMITH WESTERNS – Chicago indie rock band. A bit mellow for my taste.

Smith Westerns

FATHER JOHN MISTY – American folk singer

Father John Misty

QUEENS OF THE STONE AGE – I could hear their set as I was walking to the stage they were performing on. They needed more cowbell.

Queens of the Stone Age

LANCE HERBSTRONG – They didn’t keep my attention, but the guy playing his guitar with a violin bow was interesting.

Lance Herbstrong

FRIGHTENED RABBIT – Scottish indie rock band that always sells out when they come to San Francisco. Glad I was able to finally see why.

Frightened Rabbit

NINE INCH NAILS – I was disappointed that they didn’t have the side screens on during their set. Unless you were up close, which I was not, you really couldn’t see anything.

Nine Inch Nails

I was happy to have discovered a few new bands that I would want to see if/when they come to San Francisco. American Authors and San Cisco were definitely the highlights of the day.

This entry was posted in Concert Reviews, Lollapalooza, Music Festivals and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

