Wild Cub at Rickshaw Stop

Date: December 19, 2013
City: San Francisco, CA
Venue: Rickshaw Stop
Artist: Wild Cub
Opening Act(s): n/a

Wild Cub

I saw Wild Cub at Lollapalooza this year where they performed on the BMI stage and in the Toyota Tent. I made note of their name and put them on my list of bands to see when they come to San Francisco.

The group I went to the show with was lucky enough to have a meet and greet prior to the show. Wild Cub autographed the CD I bought and took pictures with everyone in our group. They were nice guys. You also get the impression that they are down to earth when they perform. Lead singer, Keegan DeWitt thanked Aaron Axelsen and Live 105 for supporting and playing their music a few times during the show. He also thanked the audience for being there to support them and buying their music.

I was super close to the stage and was able to see the first page of their set list. They performed:
• Shapeless
• Colour
• Jonti
• Wild Light
• Hidden in the Night
• Black Tide
• Wishin Well
• Drive
• I Follow Rivers
• Lies
• Thunder Clatter
• Summer Fires
• There was a second page that I wasn’t able to see

“Colour” is one of the songs that has gotten radio play on Live 105. It’s very catchy. I remember them playing this in the Toyota Tent. “Thunder Clatter” was another stand out because the entire audience was clapping along and dancing. There are a few songs where Keegan played a couple of snare drums that were center stage by his mic. This has become a staple for many bands, but I love it anyway.

Keegan said that they had originally planned to go off stage and wait about a minute as we all screamed for them to come back for an encore. He said they were going to skip all that and play one last song. They performed a cover of Prince’s “When Doves Cry” to close out the show. I really enjoyed their show and uploaded their CD to my playlist. I’m looking forward to these guys coming back to San Francisco.

This entry was posted in Concert Reviews and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

