Jonny Lang at The Fillmore

Date: January 22, 2014
City: San Francisco, CA
Venue: The Fillmore
Artist: Jonny Lang
Opening Act(s): Honor By August

Jonny Lang

I became aware of Jonny Lang when he performed on “The Tonight Show with Jay Leno” in the early 2000s. The talent he displayed for his young age at the time blew me away. The blues aren’t usually my thing, but there was something about Jonny’s voice that drew me in.

When I saw that he was playing at The Fillmore (one of my favorite venues) I figured it’d be a great opportunity to see him. Jonny Lang blew me away the entire show. His guitar playing is remarkable. His voice is so soulful; you can tell he feels every word that he sings.

Jonny and his band– Barry Alexander (drums), James Anton (bass), Akil Thompson (rhythm guitar) and Dwan Hill (keys) – jammed the entire night. Jonny looked like he was having a great time on stage and was very appreciative of the audience there to see him. What a talent!

Honor By August

Honor By August, a rock band from Washington, D.C., opened up the show. They were a great choice for an opener. “Already Yours” was a stand out song for me.

This entry was posted in Concert Reviews and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

