The Trims at DNA Lounge

Date: January 24, 2014
City: San Francisco, CA
Venue: DNA Lounge
Artist: The Trims
Opening Act(s): Oranguhtango

The Trims

If you’ve been reading my blog regularly, you already know that I discovered The Trims on the Live 105 BFD Local Band Stage in June 2013. I’ve been fairly obsessed since – seeing every San Francisco show that hasn’t conflicted with another concert I already had tickets to.

Despite the fact that I had been fighting a cold all week and not feeling great, I had to at least make it to the show to see The Trims. While I think The Trims should be headlining some of these smaller venues already I was glad they weren’t the headliners this night.

The Trims put on a good show as always. Besides the fact that I like their music, they work the stage well and interact with the crowd at the right times and for an appropriate amount of time.

I encourage everyone to listen to their music and see them live while they are still playing these smaller venues. Now that their song “Out of Control” was selected as the background music for a scene on MTV’s “Real World: Ex-plosion” and placed on the soundtrack it is just a matter of time before they blow up.

Oranguhtango

Oranguhtango from San Rafael opened the show. They are from San Rafael but their sound reminded me a lot of Santa Barbara. Oranguhtango is a high-energy band that knows how to get a crowd going. You can listen to their music here.

I apologize to One of Many and The Skinny Guns for not staying to watch their sets. I am a firm believer in not leaving a show until the house lights go on, but considering I’m still fighting this cold more than a week later I know leaving early was the right decision. Since you are both Bay Area bands I’m sure I’ll have an opportunity to see each of you again.

This entry was posted in Concert Reviews and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

