The Jazz Singer Sparkles

Date: August 7, 2012
City: San Jose, CA
Venue: HP Pavilion
Artist: Neil Diamond
Opening Act(s): N/A

Neil Diamond

Back in the days before cable was widely available, there were very few channels to watch. I recall that “The Jazz Singer” staring Neil Diamond would often play on network television. The soundtrack had some good songs, my favorite being “America”.

I once read that Neil Diamond had said in an interview the he wore sparkly shirts so that the fans in the nosebleed seats could see him on stage as the lights hit his shirt. I didn’t quite have nosebleed seats, but I was somewhat disappointed by the fact that he wasn’t wearing a sparkly shirt – shiny and silky, yes, but no sparkles.

He performed the hits we all know and love “Forever in Blue Jeans”, “Hello Again”, “Love on the Rocks”, “Girl You’ll Be a Woman Soon”, “You Don’t Bring Me Flowers”, “America” and of course “Sweet Caroline”.

This was another concert where the crowd was older than most of the shows I attend. However, there were several groups of frat boys at the show. They all went crazy when “Sweet Caroline” was performed.

While this was a mellow show in comparison to my usual rock and roll, jump up and down, throw your hands in the air kind of show, I really enjoyed myself. I have been on a mission to see as many legends as possible. Neil Diamond is definitely a legend. He is the Jewish Elvis after all.

This entry was posted in Concert Reviews and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

