Lollapalooza 2012 Day 1

Date: August 3, 2012
City: Chicago, IL
Venue: Grant Park

This year I selected the acts I would see by comparing the Lollapalooza and Austin City Limits Festival schedules. Since I was attending both I wanted to maximum the number of bands I could see because both festivals had several of the same groups performing. Thankfully the ACL schedule was published before Lollapalooza took place.

ANIMAL KINGDOM – British alternative rock band

Animal Kingdom

AMBASSADORS – Brooklyn rock band

Ambassadors

HALEY REINHART – Former American Idol contestant

Haley Reinhart

FIRST AID KIT – I saw this Swedish folk duo in the Google Play Tent. They were very mellow, but perfect for the setting. It was also a great way to escape the heat thanks to the giant fans they had in the tent.

HELENA – Singer songwriter from Los Angeles

Helena

DAWES – Los Angeles based folk-rock band. I had seen a portion of their set in 2011 and decided to see their entire set.

Dawes

BLACK SABBATH – First night headliner

Black Sabbath

The first time I saw Black Sabbath was at Ozzfest 2001. It was not a sober time in Ozzy’s life and he appeared to struggle shuffling around on the stage. He appeared to be sober for this show and moved a bit more gracefully. Both times his singing voice sounded great, but I couldn’t understand a lot of what he was saying when he spoke to the crowd. The only thing I understood this time was “I can’t hear you!”

This entry was posted in Concert Reviews, Lollapalooza, Music Festivals and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

